15 March 2026
Walking through Thurgoland Tunnel is a real experience. The original bore was built in 1845 for the Sheffield, Ashton-under-Lyne and Manchester Railway. A second bore was added in 1947-48 during electrification of the Woodhead Line. Look for the twin inscriptions on the portals: 'LNER 1947' and 'BR 1948', marking railway nationalisation. Trains stopped running in 1983 and now it is part of the Trans Pennine Trail.